

December 18, 2020

The Honorable Robert Menendez United States Senate 528 Hart Senate Office Building Washington, DC 20510

Dear Senator Menendez,

I am writing in regard to your June 8, 2020 request for my office to investigate changes made to the Federal Housing Administration's (FHA) policy on whether Deferred Action for Childhood Arrivals (DACA) recipients are eligible to receive FHA-insured mortgage loans. My staff recently communicated with your staff about our intention to initiate a review of FHA's implementation of its program requirements regarding non-resident single family borrowers.

The scope of our review will include analyzing the residency requirements outlined in HUD's FHA Single Family Housing Policy Handbook 4000.1, Section II.A.1.b(9)(c), which are applicable to DACA recipients and other non-residents. Our review will determine how FHA has communicated its policy on residency requirements to mortgage lenders and servicers in its program, and whether FHA is following its policy consistently in its compliance reviews and enforcement functions.

Should you or your staff have any questions, please do not hesitate to contact our Director of Congressional Affairs, Kathleen Hatcher, at <a href="mailto:khatcher@hudoig.gov">khatcher@hudoig.gov</a>.

Sincerely,

Rae Oliver Davis Inspector General

Ras alives Dans

Cc:

The Honorable Sherrod Brown, United States Senate

The Honorable Juan Vargas, U.S. House of Representatives

The Honorable Pete Aguilar, U.S. House of Representatives

The Honorable Catherine Cortez Masto, United States Senate

The Honorable Cory A. Booker, United States Senate

The Honorable Mazie K. Hirono, United States Senate

The Honorable Kamala D. Harris, United States Senate

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup> See, US Customs and Immigration Form I-765, Categories, at https://www.uscis.gov/working-in-the-united-states/information-for-employers-and-employees/employer-information/employment-authorizati

HUD Inspector General Letter to Sen. Menendez, et al. December 18, 2020

The Honorable Chris Van Hollen, United States Senate

The Honorable Kirsten Gillibrand, United States Senate

The Honorable Bernard Sanders, United States Senate

The Honorable Jeffrey A. Merkley, United States Senate

The Honorable Elizabeth Warren, United States Senate

The Honorable Jacky Rosen, United States Senate

The Honorable Amy Klobuchar, United States Senate

The Honorable Jesús G. "Chuy" Garcia, U.S. House of Representatives

The Honorable Sylvia R. Garcia, U.S. House of Representatives

The Honorable Raúl M. Grijalva, U.S. House of Representatives

The Honorable Alexandria Ocasio-Cortez, U.S. House of Representatives

The Honorable Joaquín Castro, U.S. House of Representatives

The Honorable Adriano Espaillat, U.S. House of Representatives

The Honorable Bill Foster, U.S. House of Representatives

The Honorable Vicente Gonzalez, U.S. House of Representatives

The Honorable Julia Brownley, U.S. House of Representatives

The Honorable Gilbert R. Cisneros, Jr., U.S. House of Representatives

The Honorable Carolyn B. Maloney, U.S. House of Representatives

The Honorable Nydia M. Velázquez, U.S. House of Representatives

The Honorable Gregory Meeks, U.S. House of Representatives

The Honorable Grace F. Napolitano, U.S. House of Representatives

The Honorable Ed Perlmutter, U.S. House of Representatives

The Honorable Jim Costa, U.S. House of Representatives

The Honorable Nanette Diaz Barragán, U.S. House of Representatives

The Honorable Norma J. Torres, U.S. House of Representatives

The Honorable Albio Sires, U.S. House of Representatives

The Honorable Lucille Roybal-Allard, U.S. House of Representatives

The Honorable Jimmy Gomez, U.S. House of Representatives

The Honorable Ayanna Pressley, U.S. House of Representatives

The Honorable Darren Soto, U.S. House of Representatives

The Honorable Susan A. Davis, U.S. House of Representatives

The Honorable Linda T. Sánchez, U.S. House of Representatives

The Honorable José E. Serrano, U.S. House of Representatives

The Honorable Jim Himes, U.S. House of Representatives

The Honorable Barbara Lee, U.S. House of Representatives

The Honorable Adam Smith, U.S. House of Representatives

The Honorable Alma S. Adams, Ph.D., U.S. House of Representatives